Sign up to get 10% OFF for your first order Free shipping for orders over $399 AUD in Australia AFTERPAY + ZIPPAY AVAILABLE Australia's Leading premium eyelash extension suppliers

#23 What are the phases of eyelash cycle?

Understanding the Lash Growth Cycle

Lash Basics: How They Grow and Their Purpose

Our lovely lashes, those captivating eye-framers, have a more significant role than just enhancing our looks. We possess around 90 to 160 lashes on the upper lash line, spread across five to six rows, with the lower lash line carrying up to 80 lashes.

An eyelash consists of the visible hair strand, a root beneath the skin, and a bulb where new hair growth initiates. This bulb is linked to a blood supply called the dermal papilla, which nourishes lashes for growth.

Fun fact: Eyelashes are the most pigmented of all human hair, which explains why they don't turn gray as we age, unlike the hair on our heads!

The Phases of Eyelash Growth

Eyelashes undergo three phases in their growth cycle: Anagen (active growth), Catagen (transition), and Telogen (resting). The entire cycle can span from four to eleven months.

Anagen (Active Growth) Phase

During this phase, lashes are connected to the blood supply, which fuels their growth. About 35-40% of upper lashes (and 15% of lower lashes) are typically in this growth phase simultaneously to avoid sudden lash loss.

The Anagen phase lasts 4 to 10 weeks, during which lashes grow at a rate of 0.12 to 0.14 mm per day. 

Catagen (Transition) Phase

This phase involves the shrinking of hair follicles, detachment from the blood supply, and a pause in lash growth. Existing length from the Anagen phase is maintained as lashes await the next phase, lasting 2 to 3 weeks.

Telogen (Resting & Shedding) Phase

Lashes rest and shed during this phase, making way for new growth. This stage spans 3 to 4 months, with around 50% of lashes in this phase at any given time.

Leave a comment